Tags

, ,

My Military Occupational Specialty (MOS) is 46Q, which is, in plain speak, means that I help accomplish the public affairs mission through news releases, newspaper articles, Web-based material and photographs for use in military and civilian news media. I am SO not a broadcaster (46R), by deliberate choice.

There are a good reasons for this. One, romeos carry *way* too much crap. I can get by with a camera (heck, I could use a disposable film camera if I had to, provided I could find a place to get it developed), and a pen, but romeos have a camera, lavalier mics, and a tripod at the very least. (It’s much better than it used to be, because romeos used to have to carry their video camera, a ton of spare batteries, tapes, lights, mics and a fairly heavy tripod, which makes me want to pass out.)

Two, do you have any idea how weird you sound to yourself on a recording? I mean, I understand bone conduction is a thing but man…until I had to listen to myself during a recorded intervew, I had no idea HOW MUCH of a thing it is. I always thought I had a relatively deep voice for a woman, but when I hear myself on tape, I barely recognize myself.

I sound SO WEIRD.

And with that, I’m going to get back to writing. (Well, technically, waitig for my story to come back after a second editing pass.)

 

 

